Skip to content

Fit for a Queen…

April 29, 2011

…my new chair that is!! Actually, new might be a bit of a stretch, but its new to me.  When I was on my way to the Drew William fashion presentation a couple weekends ago I got a picture text from my boyfriend.  The photo was of this chair left by a dumpster in one of the alleys near our building—he came across it while walking the dog. “Do you want me to bring this inside?” read the text.  Um, do you even have to ask?!  What a gem! Such an unsual size and shape, can’t you just see it as a telephone station with a tall & slim round side table, and old fashioned phone, with a gorgeous notepad and pen?  I can’t wait to up-cycle this baby by refinishing the wood and having it reupholstered.  I’m thinking either a glossy black or white paint for the wood with a really colourful graphic print for the rest… or maybe a textured neutral fabric and a glossy, bright pop of colour for the frame.  Or I could even go two tone with the upholstery… aaaah so many possibilities!! I’ll definitely be scouring some of my favourite design blogs and magazines for inspiration.  Here’s a list of some current favorites:

  1. for DIY’s and before and after beauties, the Design*Sponge blog takes the cake
  2. Lonny Magazine and sister publication TRADhome are amazing online monthlies that highlight both interiors and designers, and all the in-betweens. (They also do a great job of linking trends to multiple design disciplines.)
  3. Adore Home is another online glossy with issues every 2 months.  A product of Australia, this mag is international in appeal, with excellent themed editorials.
  4. Made by Girl is not an interior design blog per se, but Jen, the blog’s creator is forever showcasing beautiful home tours!
  5. A favorite for real life DIY and personal design style is Beau Lifestyle.  The blog was one of my picks for the Versatile Blogger Award…I just love perusing her home pics and decor finds!
  6. The Decorista and her tumblr blog are extremely high on my list for a daily dose of beautiful rooms. Last seen on LuxeLifeLove’s Five, I seriously can’t. get. enough.
  7. From ebay scores for her own home to decor highlights from major retailers, Little Green Notebook is a great resource and is full of creative solutions to common design issues.
Show those links some love, and tell me what you think I should do with this chair.
One Comment leave one →
  1. May 16, 2011 4:03 pm

    I adore that shape! Ah..the things you can find at a dumpster.

Leave a Reply

