Skip to content

Drew William: A Fashion Review

April 28, 2011

As promised (okay maybe its a little later than promised, but I was sick last week so my productivity levels were pretty low) here are my thoughts and photos of the Drew William Fashion Presentation I went to last weekend.  I’ve been thinking about this little show for awhile, wondering how to tell you what I really thought about it.  I debated following the old “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all,” or sugar-coating the evening with faux praise.  So here it is: this fashion presentation left me feeling very underwhelmed.  After waiting for a good half an hour in a sparse and darkened room (we passed the time by watching the social interactions of Vancouver’s ‘Luxe-Hipsters’, a crowd paying premium prices for new duds to look like vintage-wearing East Van kids), the music revved and spotlights started dancing.  From my experience, this usually signifies the start of a show, or at least a 5 minute warning call.  Instead, we were to continue waiting a good 15 minutes more before the crowd parted and out walked shuffled the first model.  Seeing her hair, I couldn’t help but think of Star Wars…and then collectively, a sharp intake of breath resonated throughout the room as the poor girl just about slipped while trying to step onto the plinth on which she was to be displayed while next model—a male this time—had his moment in the spotlight.  Here we are, two models out and both on display at opposite ends of the room when the lights go on!

Um, is that it? No, they’re probably just letting us take a closer peek at the first two looks.  

But there were no more looks.  The first two were the only two… Oh yes, there’s the designer taking his bow, and everyone is looking so pleased.  Did they just see the same show that I saw?!

So maybe I’m being a little bit harsh.  But two looks does not a fashion show make.  Even if your embellishments (hand-painted, laser-cut leather & beading) are insanely intricate and you made your own jewellery and shoes. Okay so the shoes are pretty awesome, and those bracelets? Love! Even so, it worries me that a designer might only have two looks, and makes me wonder if he/she is capable of creating an entire cohesive collection.  Looking at William’s past seasons, its clear that he is a brilliantly creative designer, and very capable of designing a great collection.  However,  in my opinion his Fall 2011 left a little to be desired as a whole, and he’s fallen short of his past work (never good!). On the other hand, he should really consider accessory design don’t you think? Imagine that leather cutwork as a bib necklace…gorgeous! My favourite details were the hand-made shoes, the bracelets, and the detail of the men’s lapel (its in the shape of a face!).

Overall, the individual parts (ie embellishments & accessories) = great.  The sum of those parts = so-so.  Your thoughts?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 28, 2011 11:04 am

    wow i really love that blazer it is so detailed!

    Btw: my blog has been temporarily de activated by blogger bc it was mistaken as a spammer! Ugh, I know, but the link below leads to my temporary blog at steffysprosandcons.COM

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

Leave a Reply

