Skip to content

Spring Highlights

April 11, 2011


Highlights by Rain Hair Salon | Alexis Bittar Pyramid Studs | Metallic Knit Tank by Jacob

For a couple weeks now, I’ve been MIA in the blogosphere… things have been so busy around here that I haven’t had much quality time with my beloved macbook.  But now I’m back at it with lots to share; first up, my lighter, brighter, spring-worthy hair!  I consider myself pretty low maintenance when it comes to my locks (albeit very extremely picky)—most days I just let them air dry into  a wavy mess.  My use of product is limited to hairspray, and then only when I’ve used the curling iron.  I’m also pretty cheap when it comes to hair maintenance.  That’s right, CHEAP.  For the past year, I’ve been getting $20 or $30 haircuts every 6-7 months from the little asian place up the street, where you’re in and out in less than 20 minutes (including the wash and styling!).

The other weekend I decided it was finally time for a little pampering in the form of highlights and a proper salon experience—the perfect antidote to all this rain we’ve been having.  Of the five years I’ve lived in Vancouver, I’ve never been to a hair salon!  I chose Rain Hair Salon near Granville Island after asking for salon suggestions on Twitter, where @shankysweet and many others raved about their services.

http://twitter.com/#!/shankysweet/status/53524296408121345

A few yelp searches later (with nothing but great reviews for Rain) and I was booking my highlights and trim.  My stylist, Jenny Lynn, completely understood what I was after: a natural, sunkissed look to brighten my complexion.  And boy did she deliver!  She used a less-harsh lightener than bleach, which left my hair just has soft as it was before and gave me the perfect light blonde streaks…my hair really does look like I’ve spent a summer at the beach.

With a glass of white wine and a stack of magazines while my hair processed, it really was a great afternoon, and money well-spent.  Thanks Jenny Lynn and Rain Hair Salon for the great pick-me-up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Irene Lear permalink
    April 12, 2011 7:26 pm

    This photo makes your eyes look so blue! Nice, natural looking hair too!

  2. April 11, 2011 8:12 pm

    pretty hair!!

    ❤ steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

Leave a Reply

