Skip to content

Colour Me Happy

February 21, 2011


At some point every winter, I would try to convince my parents that I was suffering from Seasonal Affective Disorder, and promptly suggest that they pack up the family and move us closer to the equator. (Preferably somewhere with white sand beaches and surf-able waves.) Every so often I’d switch it up a little and try for a beach vacation. My only success was convincing mum and dad to let me paint my room a sunset-inspired orange, red, and purple. (Thankfully, my taste has evolved dramatically over the last 10 years!)

It’s always around this time of year (okay, actually more like any time between October and April) that I desperately ache for a hot-weather vacation. Last weekend in particular, it seemed as if the sky was closing in and we might need Noah’s ark to escape.

Enter DIY mani/pedi in Sally Hansen ‘Sonic Bloom’ and Joe Fresh ‘Tomato’—exactly the right way to boost my spirits on a grey and rainy Vancouver day. Every time I catch a glimpse of my unseasonally bright digits it makes me smile! And while I’m still wishing for a hot-weather vacation, this polish has proven to be an economical way to curb my seasonal malaise.

To spread the cheer (if you live in the Vancouver area I know you’ll need it sometime soon) here’s a few lovely things inspired by the colour orange.

  1. O’clock watch in Pure Orange (available at Walrus)
  2. Sally Hansen Insta-Dry polish in ‘Sonic Bloom’ & Joe Fresh polish in ‘Tomato’
  3. ‘Antonia’ painting by Michelle Armas
  4. J Crew Spring 2011 collection
  5. Urban Barn ‘Laughing Buddha
  6. Hermes Boxes w/Flor’s Sophistikat floor tiles (via Design Sponge)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    March 10, 2011 10:51 am

    Hey you go girl! This is wonderful and you are so talented!! Love You

  2. ShanLeah permalink
    February 22, 2011 4:17 pm

    Bria, thoroughly enjoyed! Looking forward to more!

  3. February 22, 2011 1:44 am

    I love this – J Crew’s spring collection is one of my favorites too, and yes, I know exactly the gloom you are referring to. Congrats on an amazing first post, can’t wait to see more of Luxelifelove!

    Annching

    • February 22, 2011 8:38 am

      Thanks Annching! If only we had J Crew here (actually that might be slightly dangerous to the bank account!). I’ve been following your blog/site for awhile and its been very inspiring, I’m excited to see how it evolves in the near future and I’d love to pick your brain about a few technical things!

Leave a Reply

